Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need so elect. help

Due West SC. not to be mistaken with KEY WEST!

Need so elect. help

Hi to all, I am new to this and at my age I have to ask for some help, not something I do well but my father said we will have to do that sooner or later!
    Here is my deal, I just returned from the IWF show last week where I bought 4 machines, all are 220 single phase, now my shop is a 40 X 60 pole barn/woodworking shop, and the 200 amp service panel is at the other end of the shop, the bandsaw is a 5hp, 220 volt and draws 30 Amps, the OM calls for a 35 Amp breaker, the jointer 3hp,220 motor draws 18 Amps,the OM calls for a 20 Amp breaker, the 20" planer 5hp,220 volt, single phase and that is all I know about it at this point (it comes in Tuesday) and a DC, 5hp,220 and that is all I know about it. Now in my shop the rafters are 10' high to clear my tractor that also lives in the shop, what I need to know is from the service up the wall over the rafters down to the 24" bandsaw is about 65 ft. and more to the other three machines, the OM says to use # 8 wire on the bandsaw but nothing about how far #8 can go before I state to lose Amps.

This goes with out saying but I am not a electrician, I did do the wireing of the lights and 110 wall plugs, which are ever 8' with a 4X4 box and 4 receptacles not 2 on the same breaker, I know its a little over kill but I have worked in shops that one can not pull the trigger on a 1/4 drill without tripping the breaker, even if I do have a one person shop.
    All of that being said do I hard wire each machine or use long heavy #8 or # 6 ext-cords and I have to say I am not in love with that even if they are 10' off the floor. I live in SC, and the last time I called a elect-type person he charged me $750.00 to hang the meter base and the service panel and I furnished everything. Well that is another story...lol...and it was in 2005 so with the gas the way it is who knows.