Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First time shellac user - question.

First time shellac user - question.

Any secrets to getting the flakes to dissolve fully? I have taken a wallpaper seam roller and crushed the flakes, but still seem to have a lot of "junk" left in the jar. I have filtered it through cheesecloth, but seems I am getting a lot of waste - pretty good wad of stuff left over!

Hi John. I'm no expert, but stirring them up seems to help. It can take a while for them to dissolve.

How long are you letting them dissolve? I generally allow 2 days with a shake of the jar each time I pass by or think of it.
    Mike
    From the workshop under the staircase, Clinton Township, MI
    Semper Audere!

Peter, I have been stirring occasionally, but I think given Mike's comment I may be impatient. I only worked with it for about 30-45 minutes!! I mixed a second batch, and have let it sit overnite. I will work with it some more and give it another day or so. Not in a rush, just didn't know what to expect. I'm mixing a 2# cut.

John,
    I usually use a glass jar for mine and let them sit for a few days as well. Using a jar that seals tight allows you to mix a batch and use it and then seal it back up for another day. You can keep it for about a year or so...

Cheers.
    Greg

Coffee Grinder

I have a cheapy electric coffee grinder. It cost me about $15 a few years back. I toss the flakes in it and grind the devil out of them. I like to think it speeds up the process, however, I have never tried not grinding them to see if it is slower.

Two suggestions

Buy a Waring Blender at a yard sale. I did for $10. reduces waste and shortens process. But better yet buy the liquid concentrate from Homestead Finishing. It is ready immediately, no weighing, no waste. The only downside is they only have two choices: pale de-waxed and dark. So if you want seedlac or one of the others you may have to go back to flakes.
    Carl
    18th century nut --- Carl