Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Laguna ResawKing vs Lenox Woodmaster CT

Laguna ResawKing vs Lenox Woodmaster CT

I’ve been using the Resaw King on my bandsaw for several years. I use the saw primarily for resawing hardwoods. I do a lot of bandsaw veneering. I’ve used up three Resaw Kings, so I’m pretty well-calibrated on them. When the last one died, I decided to try a Woodmaster CT. I’ve had it for a couple weeks now. Here’s some comparisons….

The Woodmaster CT cost me $125. (My saw takes a 144” blade.) The Resaw King has had a recent price hike, and would now cost $250.

The Woodmaster CT is 1.3 tpi, whereas the Resaw King is 2 tpi. As you might expect, the Resaw King has a slightly smoother cut face, but the Woodmaster requires less feed pressure for a given feed rate. Both blades give a remarkably smooth cut compared to conventional steel blades.

The CT has teensy carbide tips. They’re about .04” deep. The Resaw King’s tips are about .15” deep. My Resaw Kings have been resharpened five times or so before they run out of tip. Resharpening helps amortise the initial purchase price. The CT also has unusual tip shapes. A full-kerf-width tooth is alternated with a narrower tooth. This too may present challenges to a resharpener.

According to dealers, the CT has carbide tips. Lenox itself seems silent on the issue; the Woodmaster CT does not appear on Lennox’s site. Laguna is not clear what the Resaw King is tipped with. IIRCC, the introductory ads said “carbide”. The web site now says “C-8 steel”. Their reps say “carbide alloy”, but fail to be any more specific than that. (The carbide on woodworking tools is tungsten carbide particles cemented together by cobalt. That is, all carbide tools are actually carbide alloys. Steel, in contrast, contains iron, carbon, and many possible alloying metals. Steel is not carbide, or vice versa.)