Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: "shop class" project ideas

"shop class" project ideas

Hi all, great looking forum!

I'm relatively new to woodworking and have built a few things now. I'm currently enjoying working on a walnut harvest table for grandma as well as assembling all the necessaries for "my first shop" (and really enjoying the slippery slope...).

My first question to the panel is about "simple" projects. You see, I'm involved in a summer youth camp and am hoping to share the joys of woodworking with the older kids--13-15 years old. I'm looking for ideas for projects that involve minimal power tool use, i.e. maybe a sander, and maybe the bandsaw; and maximum satisfaction. I'm thinking of obvious things like pine boxes with lap joints using backsaws and block planes, etc. but looking for slightly more interesting ideas...

I've been trying to recall my little projects in Industrial Arts class--I can only remember making a little wooden boat and cutting board, but I can't imagine using a table saw in grade 7 so i'm wondering things like how we milled up the wood for the cutting board... must have used a bandsaw--there's no way we used a table saw, right? Or am I being paranoid? (Or maybe the stock was provided, but that's kinda boring.)

Any general advice or ideas in the area of facilitating little, easy, satisfying projects with small groups will be greatly appreciated!

There must be a few shop teachers around this here forum...

Hello Nigel and welcome to the Creek.

If you’re around water, how about a canoe oar. Some other ideas off the top of my little head and a little browsing;
    cd holders, jewelery boxes, small chests, dog house, corner shelves, picture frames, desk top shelf, small decorative surfboards, bar stool, log foot stool or ottoman, whirligigs, plant stands, or small boxes.

Good luck and glad to see you working with the young.