Thread: Compressed Air in the Shop

Compressed Air in the Shop

OK,

I have written recently about building Norm's mitre bench and storage bench on one wall of my one car garage "shop." I figured that before I started that job, I should run electric and air. My FIL is an electrician, so I have most of that covered.

This call is about the compressed air. I have 3HP 15 gallon compressor that is about three years old, and I want to run three or four outlets along the bench, then have two hanging reels from the ceiling. I don't think I will need anything more than that.

Here is the rub. I have never done anything like this before. I was planning on useing copper, as I don't have a lot to run, but I don't know anything else.

Where do I start?
    Is there a good reference out there?
    Do I have a good enough compressor to make this happen?
    What size pipe to I use?
    What about an outlet to take care of condensation?

Any and all advise is greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time.

Compressed Air in the Shop (merged with other thread)

All,

I am going to install a new workbench along a wall in my shop, but figured before that, I should run some air, as it will never be easier. I have never done anything like that before, so I was going to send out a note asking for advice. I don't even know what to ask, so here are some questions for starters:

1) I am going to use copper, should I consider anything else?
    2) Are they any plans out there to start?
    3) I am using a 3HP, 15 gallon AC, but I am only working in a one car garage. Is this big enough?
    4) I was looking to run four or five outlets, and two from the ceiling with hose reels for the larger equipment. Should I consider any more?
    5) What about the condensation? What do I add to take care of that.
    6) Is the compressor always running? I was looking to put it into a cabinet, with the door almost always closed.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Dwain

Blog Entries
    Dwain,