Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Electrical Code, buried cable question

Question Electrical Code, buried cable question

I have a couple electrical code problems that need to be fixed. One that is simple to ask about is this. I have a buried UF cable running from the house to a shed. The cable should have been run in conduit from the opening in the side of the house down into the ground at least 24-inches. Is there a product that can be used to properly protect this cable without cutting it, something that can be put over the cable, or wrapped around it?

If you do good on this one, I have more complicated questions

Thanks...

So you are saying the UF cable is perfectly visible and non-protected as it leaves your house and then enters the ground?

I'm far from a code expert but could you buy some schedule 80 oversized, split it lengthwise, and then work it around the exposed cable? In fact, I'm sure you can do this but will it pass inspection? Could you simply box in the cable with plywood? Bolt a couple pieces of wood around the cable and then slip a simple plywood box around it, secure it to the wood, paint it to match the house?

I know UF is solid and very stiff to work with but is disconnecting it a real bear?

There is my shot.
    Wood: a fickle medium....

Did you know SMC is user supported? Please help.

Without cutting the cable - yeah ... disconnect it from the feeding panelboard, pull it out, slip a section of Schedule 80 conduit over it (appropriate size of course) and reconnect the cable to the panelboard.

That meets your criteria of "properly protect this cable without cutting it", although that would be a bit of a nuisance to do.

Chris' idea of boxing in the cable is an interesting one. I'd ask your local AHJ (Authority Having Jurisdiction) if that would be acceptable. One issue is that the wood would need to be buried 24" deep and that, to me, is like building a critter highway for termites.

= = = = = = = = = = = = = =