Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: chain saws

Question chain saws

A question re:chain saws-I'd appreciate any thoughts regarding chains sawsielectric and gas,power,size. I use it for trimming tree parts for turning blanks -thanks

ok, I have a scary image going through my head. Some guy with a big hunk of wood spinning in a lathe and he's triming it down with his chainsaw...... not sure if I can sleep tonight with that one.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat Salter
    ok, I have a scary image going through my head. Some guy with a big hunk of wood spinning in a lathe and he's triming it down with his chainsaw...... not sure if I can sleep tonight with that one.
    LOL! Good one, Pat, though that particular thought never entered my mind until you said it!

Edward, I'm no Pro, but I do the spinny thing from time to time. I also don't have steady or reliable sources for taking down the "big ones". That said, I just use a little 16" Crapsman (made by Remington, I think) to rought cut my blanks. I have no way of handling really large logs and it's only a small lathe, so the hp and size of the chainsaw is just right. An added benefit is, when it's really cold or icky outside, I have no problem in rough cutting blanks right in the shop, as there are no fumes or extremely loud noises to contend with. Works for me....
    Cheers,
    John K. Miliunas

Cannot find REALITY.SYS. Universe halted.
    60 grit is a turning tool, ain't it?
    SMC is totally supported by volunteers and your generosity! Please help if you can!
    Looking for something for nothing? Check here!

John, are you saying you've got an electric chainsaw? How does that work out for you? Does it have enough power. I've been looking at what I think is the same model.

Quote Originally Posted by Edward Orecchio
    A question re:chain saws-I'd appreciate any thoughts regarding chains sawsielectric and gas,power,size. I use it for trimming tree parts for turning blanks -thanks