Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Original Simple Green Bad for Carbide

Original Simple Green Bad for Carbide

I've seen a few discussions recently about cleaning saw blades. There are a lot of solutions and opinions on this and I don't mean to pooh-pooh any of them. After all, I'm just a newbie and learning myself. Yet, I read something about this today which I found interesting.

A coworker loaned me some of his Shop Notes to review. Vol. 16 Issue 96 has a short article about blade cleaners. One of the cleaners was "Extreme Simple Green". This stuff is designed for cleaning aircraft. Therefore, it won't hurt metal parts. It worked very well in the review, but it's somewhat expensive. There's also a small note stating the following:

"While the original Simple Green is an effective cleaner, the manufacturer warns that it should not be used to soak carbide-tipped blades or bits. The contents of the cleaner will cause the carbide to leach from the metal."

I know a lot of folks use Simple Green to clean blades. So, if you're using the original formula, you might want to consider switching to Extreme Simple Green.

I know some folks also use oven cleaner. The Shop Notes article specifically mentioned using oven cleaner is a bad idea because, "The lye breaks down the cobalt binders used to hold the carbide together".

Keep in mind, this isn't my opinion, but rather claims from the Simple Green manufacturer and the author of the article. Take it for what it is and use your best judgement.
    Last edited by Pat Germain; 12-22-2007 at 8:49 PM.

I've had good success with baking soda. Simple and cheap, readily available.

Placitas, NM in the foothills of the Sandia Mountain.
    I think the operative word here is "soak". I never soak my blades in Simple Green, just spritz it on and give the blade a quick once over with a brass brush, then rinse and dry.

Quote Originally Posted by Jesse Cloud View Post