Thread: Sears 22124 vs Steel City 35670 saws

Sears 22124 vs Steel City 35670 saws

Are these the same basic saws? Cannot find any info indicating if the 35670 is the hybrid? The SC saw is on sale at Woodcraft for $900(after rebate). How does the fence on the SC compare to the Beisemeyer on the 22124?
    When I checked the 22124 in the store, the fence was very difficult to slide but not sure if cleaning and waxing the surface it slides on would have made a difference.
    All comments will be appreciated.
    Thanks
    Whit

Blog Entries
    Very, very close cousins. Both are supported by the same folks. When you call the Steel City number it is the same person who answers the phone when you call the Orion number. Many parts are interchangeable according to the folks at tech support.

Both have cabinet mounted trunnions, snap out splitter/guards, same switch, motor, etc., etc. I have heard the SC fence is a 'better-than-Bies' but I have no personal experience except with the Bies. I am told SC machines the fence faces after assembly to provide faces that are flatter and more assured of a 90* to the table (I have had no trouble with the Bies).

As far as the C-man unit you looked at in the store, the ones I have seen are horribly assembled. My fence slides very easily (none of the ones I've seen at Sears did) although it is quite heavy steel. There are some owners of both here (I have the 22124). I'm sure they will chime in.

You can often get the 22124 on sale / craftsman club / holiday special, etc. which I don't believe will happen with SCTW although they do $100 rebates and such. For example I got my saw way below list with free shipping and the two year warranty during a memorial or labor day sale). The miter gauge is about as good as any 'included' gauge I've seen but I never put mine together as I already had an Incra. The included Lietz combo blade is very nice.