Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: As an author is SMC a waste of time ?

As an author is SMC a waste of time ?

Author's Dilemma: As an author is posting on SMC a waste of time ?

I HAVE LOOKED BACK THROUGH THE VARIOUS SMC BAND SAW POST AND I AM “HORRIFIED” BY THE POOR QUAILTY OF THE INFORMATION PRESENTED. MISINFORMATION (with no scientific testing or accurate technical data) FROM VARIOUS ARTICLES, BOOKS AND CATALOGS ( sales pitch disguised at engineering and technical data) KEEPS BEING REPEATED OVER AND OVER AS FACT.

As an author I have a dilemma posting on SMC. Since Jan 2007 I have occasionally been posting or starting threads on SMC.
    I stated the thread “Damaged Band Saws from Over tensioning”
    Which is currently on page 4. Last night I posted on the thread “band saw tension gauge-crazy idea? (Which is currently on page 2) which is about using a caliper to tension a saw blade. These are the last two paragraphs:

“No field of woodworking has more misinformation than the band saw as it relates to tension and the standard tension mechanism. Although the feeler gauge and caliper method of measuring tension is theoretically valid the actual usefulness of this technique is doubtful. How many of you measure tire pressure to know how much fuel is in your tank? Theoretically you could measure either your car weight or the tire pressure to determine the amount of gas in the tank. Why not use the gas gauge?

90 percent of the time you can use the gauge on your saw with good results. For cutting thick material or if the blade is dulling
    go to the next higher setting. Just like the gas gauge in your car
    it is a “good enough” device.”

THIS SECTION WAS EDITED OUT BECAUSE IT CONTAINED MATERIAL
    FROM A PM TO ME FROM JOHN BAILEY AND MY RESPONSE. I DIDN'T
    KNOW THAT I COULD NOT INCLUDE PM MATERIAL. ONE OF THE COMPLAINTS WAS THAT I WAS USING MY POST ON SMC TO PROMOTE MY NEW BOOK.