View Poll Results: What is your safety record while Woodworking?

Voters
534. You may not vote on this poll
  • I am disabled or suffered a significant loss of function because of woodworking

8 1.50%
  • I have been seriously injured, but there was no long term effects

28 5.24%
  • I have suffered minor injuries that required stitches or equivalent care

166 31.09%
  • I have not been injured, but have had at least one "close call"

236 44.19%
  • I have not been injured nor had any "close calls"

96 17.98%
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: What's Your Safety Record While Woodworking?

What's Your Safety Record While Woodworking?

I myself haven't had any bad experiences, but I'm a newbie. I am very serious about safety. I use all my guards, splitters, safety glasses, ear protection, dust mask, push sticks, etc. I generally double check myself before turning the machine on.

The only time things get a little hairy is when I've been cutting sheet goods by myself. I plan to get a guided system in the near future (EZ or Ftool) to rectify this problem.

I did have my first ejection on my TS (not a kickback), but I was standing to the side so it was nowhere near me.

I have hurt myself twice. The first time I clobbered myself with the end of a Bessey K-Body clamp that was longer that necessary, but at the time, the only one available. I have a nice scar on my forehead near the eyebrow from that little incident.

The second time was on New Years Day a few years ago...I proved that the 3/4" Ashley Iles chisel I was sharpening was...well...sharp...by requiring 5 stitches on my left thumb knuckle...on a holiday.