Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Laser Engraving!

New to Laser Engraving!

Hi all. Im fairly new to laser engraving, but i have been experimenting... especially on granite. It took me a while to figure out that more power wasn't the way to go. Anyway, after reading a few of the posts on here i tried all sorts... coarser screen, lower power, higher power, higher speed etc. Still not perfect, but not too shabby for a beginner one week later. Plus I live in Zimbabwe so getting Granite is easy. Thanks to blokes like Frank Corker and Gary Hair who have so far imparted insights I might have taken weeks to figure out (Size is 350 x 350mm). PLEASE FEEL FREE TO COMMENT.
    DSCF0310.jpg

DSCF0313.jpg

DSCF0314.jpg

DSCF0318.jpg
    These were done on an Epilog 100w Radius.
    Last edited by Conrad Granger; 05-24-2007 at 5:56 AM. Reason: forgot to mention size of granite.

Congratulations. Your work is excellent.
    Mike Null

St. Louis Laser, Inc.

Trotec Speedy 300, 80 watt
    Gravograph IS400
    Woodworking shop CLTT and Laser Sublimation
    Dye Sublimation
    CorelDraw X5, X7

Nice work Conrad. Wow, didn't realise you live in Zimbabwe, I was born in Bulawayo!
    Epilog 45w Helix X3/X5 Corel Microflame Generator (flame polisher) Heat Bender

Nice work, Conrad. We haven't tackled granite yet--but we love how LaserSketch's marble turns out.

Nancy
    Nancy Laird
    Owner - D&N Specialties, Rio Rancho, New Mexico
    Woodworker, turner, laser engraver; RETIRED!
    Lasers - ULS M-20 (20W) & M-360 (40W), Corel X4 and X3
    SMC is user supported. http://www.sawmillcreek.org/donate.php

Nice work Conrad, care to share your settings? Speed Power DPI?
    Brian Robison
    MetalMarkers
    Epilog Mini
    Rabbit 1290

Very nice Conrad! How lucky to live so near the source of Black Absolute Z (as I know it). For a 12 x 12 tile I pay $11.70 plus shipping. Bet you pay a lot less.