Thread: Finishing sapele...

Finishing sapele...

I'm getting ready to start a project where the tabletop is a beautiful slab of 8/4 sapele that is fairly red in color. I am looking for a clear gloss finish that will enhance but not alter the color significantly. This table will be used and I have a 3 year old so liquid-proofing is a must! What do you recommend? I've got Jewitt's book but it's actually a bit overwhelming. I thought I'd use shellac sealer (zinser?) then poly. I've used poly almost exclusively in my work so I thought maybe something different? I don't want to have to spray though. I've never worked with sapele before, it is quite beautiful! Thanks!

I still prefer the time tested witches brew of pure tung, mineral spirits, and poly on almost everything I do. I start with VERY little poly to really get the tung to pop. Then as I start adding coats after letting it cure, I start adding more and more poly. Up to maybe 1/3 each. Then if you really want final protection, you can add a few coats of the wipe on poly by itself. (after you let it cure for awhile)

This system takes time to add all the coats, but for a personal piece, it's worth it. Figure at least a week if not two to get some "build" on the finish. Remember to "wet" sand between coats. I usually use a little spirits with some wet/dry sandpaper to help de-nub and flatten.

Quote Originally Posted by Russ Filtz
    I still prefer the time tested witches brew of pure tung, mineral spirits, and poly on almost everything I do. I start with VERY little poly to really get the tung to pop. Then as I start adding coats after letting it cure, I start adding more and more poly. Up to maybe 1/3 each. Then if you really want final protection, you can add a few coats of the wipe on poly by itself. (after you let it cure for awhile) ....
    Do you have any photos of results you could post.