Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Shop Heating Question that is baffling me beyond belief!

Shop Heating Question that is baffling me beyond belief!

Hello

I am very new to the Creek and have a shop heating question that I can't get a straight answer to.

A lot of guys keep their shop at let's say, 50 degrees, and then turn it up to, let's say 65 degrees when they are going to actually be out there to work.

I asked a friend, what's the difference between just keeping it at 65 and have it go on and off by itself when needed to maintain 65, versus turning it down to 50 degrees and then have it work hard for a long time to get to 65. Aren't they equal and if so, why not?

If it cycles naturally to maintain 65, doesn't that amount of natural gas equal to........... the gas it takes to maintain at 50 and work hard straight for the amount of time it takes to increase 15 more degrees?

I know I am wrong, but I just don't know why. They seem like they'd be even. Any heating experts who would care to explain the reasoning, I'd be more than grateful!!! My neighbors don't know either and everyone I've spoken to is split on it, but I've yet to ask a heating professional what the true answer is.

Thanks a lot! Great site ya have here people! Not much bickering to speak of. Unheard of on most woodforums I've checked out. Someone is doing something right. Keep it up!!!

Dave

p.s. How can Missouri get more snow, WAY more snow, than Ohio/Michigan? Elni-who-no ?

Dave,