Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: creeker interview: Jason Tuinstra

creeker interview: Jason Tuinstra

1. Name (and nick names):
    Wm. Jason Tuinstra

2. Age/DOB:

3. Location (present and previous):
    Hanford, California (for the last 1 ¾ years) via St. John, Indiana (10 years) via Jenison, Michigan (hometown growing up)

4. Tell us about your family:
    I have been married for 14 years and have 5 children.

5. How do you earn a living, woodworking or other, any interesting previous occupations.
    I am a pastor in the United Reformed Churches of North America. I sell some of my furniture, but most of it is given away or kept for the homestead.

6. Equipment overview (hand tools and other):
    At the center of the shop is my Delta Unisaw. Other than this, most of my tools are hobbyist level. I have an open stand JET 6” jointer and a JET 12” bandsaw. I have the old DeWalt 12 ½” planer. They are not the best, but I’m comfortable with them and their limitations and would rather spend money on wood right now. To help out with flattening tabletops I have a 16/32 Performax drum sander. Within the last year I started to buying FESTOOL equipment and can’t say enough about their quality. Regarding hand tools, I have an assortment of chisels – nothing noteworthy. I have a small assortment of Veritas hand planes and a Lie Nielsen dovetail saw. Beyond this, I have the standard assortment of routers, sanders, bits and pieces that go into making quality furniture.

7. Describe your shop:
    I have a two stall garage shop. Most of the tools are on wheels so that I can push everything out of the way when I’m done with a project to allow for some parking.

8. Tell us about the hand planes you own, and your favorite one(s) to use:
    My favorite plane has been my low-angle jack plane. It leaves a beautiful finish and is a joy to use.

9. Your favorite chisels: