Thread: Ridged 13" planer

Ridged 13" planer

I've been wrestling with my wrist breaker Makita 12" planer for several years now and no matter how I lube or clean it out I can still twist that thing about off the table if I try to adjust the head without holding on with both hands.

Yesterday I tried the Ridged 13" planer at HD and just fell in love with that smooth easy adjustment system that moves the cutter head up and down.

Does anyone have and use this? It's kind of pricy but that slick movement might be worth it to me.

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry Crawford

Does anyone have and use this? It's kind of pricy but that slick movement might be worth it to me.
    Jerry, no help on the Ridgid and I don't know what you consider "pricey". In any event, have you looked at or considered the new Dewalt 13"-er? Two speed, three knives, automatic head lock and close to a hundred pounds of stability. No, not real portable, but if it's going to live in the shop, not a biggie. Great reviews on it, thus far, and I actually got to work the crank and hear it run at my local Woodcraft last week. Sweet machine! Just a thought....
    Cheers,
    John K. Miliunas

Cannot find REALITY.SYS. Universe halted.
    60 grit is a turning tool, ain't it?
    SMC is totally supported by volunteers and your generosity! Please help if you can!
    Looking for something for nothing? Check here!

Jerry,

I too, would suggest a look at the new Dewalt. I got to use it a little this past weekend and really like it.

Bob

Jerry - I've heard plenty of positives about the Ridgid, but if it's still priced comparably to the 2-speed units from Delta and DeWalt, I'd consider looking at them first. Also, the older DeWalt 733 has been an excellent value on sale for the past several months.