Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I need some cabinetry tool advice.

I need some cabinetry tool advice.

I'm looking to build my first set of cabinets in my kitchen. I'm currently building a new house. I am a third generation general contractor so l have a good degree of knowledge in construction my grandfather used to build furniture and cabinets so I have a very good general idea of how they need to go together and how to create things with my hands. He has been gone now for a few decades, and all the old tools that he had were hand tools. I have a budget of $6000 to buy tools to make this job go smoothly. I plan to continue on with the tools after I build these cabinets and do numerous built-ins and other cabinets throughout the house and then continue to build furniture in my spare time. If you had $6000 to spend, what tools would you use that on? I have the basic Dewalt and Milwaukee power tools. I am in need of a poper dust collection system. but I don't know if I should spend most of my budget on a great cabinet table saw and a track saw. Or if I should just get a job site table saw and invest in a router table or any other tools to complement the setup. I'm sure I'm probably gonna need to run dados and rabbets for most projects.
    I plan on buying S4S or S3S so I don't think I'll need a joiner or a planer. Plywood boxes. Paint grade.

Also, if any of y'all paint your own cabinets, what is a good spray rig. I will also be painting my entire house as well so take that in consideration on the spray rig if they're two separate types just please note that in the comment.
    Sorry if I messed up any posting format, I'm new to posting. Thanks in advance.

What does the second generation say? These days building cabinets usually means making some boxes from pre-finished plywood and ordering doors and drawers to stick on them. If you are building a house, don't you already have a table saw of some sort?