Thread: Two Different Things

Two Different Things

Recent threads have reinforced the notion that just because you're good at something, doesn't mean you'll be a good business person marketing your stuff. Being good in one doesn't translate to being successful in another. Actually works both ways, some average turners are great at marketing and promotion. Case in point, young man I know paints homes and does restoration of older homes, he works alone and doesn't work well with others. He is in high demand and does quite well. His boss wants to sell him the business (only two painters) and will stay with him as long as needed. The young fella said no, "I'm not a business person." At least he knows himself. I was an average drummer but had constant work largely because I "sold the sizzle, not the steak". People would say, "You'd do this even if you didn't get paid wouldn't you." No!

Sorry for the ramble, but I hope I made my point. You're thoughts?

75% or more of every business is marketing. With custom woodworking, you need a deposit check to buy materials and start a job. If you don't sell yourself well, you aren't trusted with a deposit. Hence the effectiveness of word of mouth advertising and the need to keep satisfied customers.

Quote Originally Posted by Dave Fritz View Post