Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 35

Thread: Fantasizing about hobbyist equipment design

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    1,593

    Fantasizing about hobbyist equipment design

    Using my Grizzly straight blade 8" G0586, which I love, I was fantasizing what I could do to it to make it more user friendly/automatic. Found myself changing the thickness of the pass on an individual board to maximize how much thickness I have after flattening one side (I do this every time I use it). But today I would add digital read out of thickness of cut and a servo motor tied into the in feed table to raise and lower the table from a digital input.

    Just being lazy and I am sure commercial machines offer this and I certainly wouldn't want to pay the upcharge to get the options... Oh well, I did say I was fantasizing...

    Brian
    Brian

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Location
    Tracy, CA
    Posts
    647
    I don't know of any commercial jointers that have a motorized raise/lower of the infeed table. It just isn't enough movement to justify this.

    It might not be worth your while, but you could bolt on a DRO and mount the display up by the power buttons:

    https://www.proscale.com/products/in...dout-24-cable/

  3. #3
    reality the better the machine the easier it is to raise the table. Ive never had an issue with the SCM as the mechanism is such good quality, its smooth and easy. My past Progress stroke sander was brutal, Now an italian power one a joy but in that case it was brutal as it was so hard to do manually.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    1,593
    Quote Originally Posted by Warren Lake View Post
    reality the better the machine the easier it is to raise the table. Ive never had an issue with the SCM as the mechanism is such good quality, its smooth and easy. My past Progress stroke sander was brutal, Now an italian power one a joy but in that case it was brutal as it was so hard to do manually.
    It's is still a good machine and adjustment is easy, just fantasizing. Brian
    Brian

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    1,593
    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron Inami View Post
    I don't know of any commercial jointers that have a motorized raise/lower of the infeed table. It just isn't enough movement to justify this.

    It might not be worth your while, but you could bolt on a DRO and mount the display up by the power buttons:

    https://www.proscale.com/products/in...dout-24-cable/
    Fantasizing about servo motor, ball screws and digital readouts. Brian
    Brian

  6. #6
    Yeah get that just pointing out on some better machines stuff works easier.

    Likely helps I have some cars with Roll up windows.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    The old pueblo in el norte.
    Posts
    1,899
    This is a jointer, not a thicknesser?
    ~mike

    happy in my mud hut

  8. #8
    This may sound harsh but seriously?
    Make something with it before you pimp it out. Are the hand wheels too difficult? How often do you change table height?
    I don't get it, I see no point what so ever.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    1,389
    I agree with the others that, meh. I don't think I've ever changed the depth of cut after initial setting (on my jointer). If you want to trick it out, get a power feeder... totally unnecessary for most things but nice to have and less work for you.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Peoria, IL
    Posts
    4,506
    Thickness of cut on a jointer is almost never a requirement. You are at the jointer to take out twist, bow, and cupping. Once you obtain that, it's on to different machinery. My only adjustment is for light or heavy cut, not a specific amount.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Modesto, CA, USA
    Posts
    9,975
    Meaningless and useless on a jointer. the top surface just goes for a ride. It is not flat or parallel to anything. There would be no flat surface to measure from. Cut a football in half the long way and tell me how thick it is? Any answer from 0 to about 3 inches is correct.
    Use a planer with a dro and a PLC to control the table lift motor.
    Bill D

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    1,593
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard Coers View Post
    Thickness of cut on a jointer is almost never a requirement. You are at the jointer to take out twist, bow, and cupping. Once you obtain that, it's on to different machinery. My only adjustment is for light or heavy cut, not a specific amount.
    That's my fantasizing point. I take a single or two heavier passes then adjust based on what's left to take off. Today I jointed over ten pieces for a project and I was just fantasizing about having a digital keypad and servo to adjust it for me. Taking it a step further, why not make it like alexa, where I can tell it to adjust to a specific thickness and not have to even punch it into the keyboard. Brian
    Brian

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Toronto Ontario
    Posts
    11,272
    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron Inami View Post
    I don't know of any commercial jointers that have a motorized raise/lower of the infeed table. It just isn't enough movement to justify this.

    It might not be worth your while, but you could bolt on a DRO and mount the display up by the power buttons:

    https://www.proscale.com/products/in...dout-24-cable/
    The Felder Plan51L jointer (20Ē), has a power drive infeed table with digital height display.

    It also has a locking lever under the infeed table so you can make convex, straight or concave workpieces.

    Iíve used one, superb machine, and adding a stock feeder to the outfeed table really increases productivity

    Regards, Rod

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Toronto Ontario
    Posts
    11,272
    Quote Originally Posted by John Kananis View Post
    I agree with the others that, meh. I don't think I've ever changed the depth of cut after initial setting (on my jointer). If you want to trick it out, get a power feeder... totally unnecessary for most things but nice to have and less work for you.
    I change my jointer depth of cut often, deep cut for material that needs a lot of removal, shallow cut for material that doesnít need a deep cut.

    Mine has a lever, simple up/down adjustment to speed up the work

    Regards, Rod

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Ouray Colorado
    Posts
    1,400
    Most all high end Euro jointers have motorized adjustment of the infeed table. It’s a nice feature and I move mine a lot. A lot of the vintage euro jointers had hydraulic up and down or a simple lever like molders have for infeed adjustment. Some vintage US jointers had large ships wheels for easy adjustment.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •