Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Roofing valley

Blog Entries

Roofing valley

I’ll ask and see if anybody knows. I want to use W-metal on my roof and there are two different pitches on my roof.so instead of the W-metal going all the way up , it angles in a different direction.

Not sure if we have any roofers on board. Can’t find and pictures or videos. I’m lost on this one..
    https://www.googleadservices.com/pag...BAgDEAc&adurl=

One just lays on top of the other. Part of the standing middle has to be folded down, and the upper and probably one side edge of the lower piece folded back on itself to keep water from going sideways. Also ice shield under the whole valley.

What pitch and shingles?

I’m a roofer. It nearly impossible to discuss a Valley metal detail without seeing it.
    A general rule is at a minimum you want 3 inch over lap. Make relief cuts in the lower piece to get the crown of the metal folded flat. No fasteners in the water way. no screws. No nails or staples nothing. Take your time to get over lapping pieces laying flat. You probably will have to do it two or three times. Just cut it off and do it again.
    With shingles 18 inch wide valley metal is all you should need. The wider stuff is for tile roofs.
    Good Luck
    Aj

Blog Entries
    I got up there and took pictures..
    Attached Images Attached Images

Blog Entries
    My first thought was to beat it down and overlay it, but I couldn’t find a youtube or any pictures of it, so it concerned me..

Blog Entries
    Best Regards, Maurice

No benefit with comp shingles except for steep pitch, IMO, but if you do, make sure to clip the shingle corners.

Blog Entries
    The metal will outlast my shingles

I can tell you right now, that almost every roof was in my neighborhood was done as cheap as it was bid. I’m hoping to upgrade some of the work underneath the shingles..
    Last edited by jack duren; 02-09-2024 at 12:39 PM.