Thread: Questions about purchasing a used Felder AD741

Questions about purchasing a used Felder AD741

My first post, though I have been a long time off and on lurker.

I was about to finally pull the trigger on getting a Hammer A331 or A341, when a 20 year old "barely" used Felder AD741 became a possibility. It is a 3 phase machine, however, I installed a rotary phase converter in my garage last summer so I think that should be an acceptable method of powering this machine.

Is a 20 year old jointer/planer ancient or does it have many more boardfeet left in it? I'm only a hobbyist and generally take very good care of my equipment, but I do specialize in overkill. I am prepared to buy a shelix cutterhead down the road. I checked with Felder and they do not offer retrofit kits for the helical cutterheads.

I also haven't had much luck in learning what the advantages of the AD741 are over the Hammer series. Only that it's better. Any insight would be appreciated.

Thanks much,
    Bob

The older machine will have the following advantages

- four post planer table able to support larger Timbers

- heavier and longer jointer tables

- 2 feed speeds

- probably has power planer table elevation with digital readout ( subject to original option selection)
    It probably is a 4 knife cartridge head, they work very well

I would clean and lubricate it, and inspect the planer friction wheel.

If you have a rotary converter make you sure you have the two phases with the control power supply not connected to the manufactured phase.

Regards, Rod

Hey Robert,
    What is the asking price? what year/color is it? Is it the forest green(pre-2003) or the chartreuse (post 2003)?