Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hard maple purchase

Hard maple purchase

I ordered 200 bf of hard maple as follows
    -13/16 Prime HARD MAPLE KD S2S SLR1E RW RL

My problem was I assumed this would be perfect or near perfect finish, maybe needing sanding only. It came in with chatter on both sides across the entire lot. This is my first time buying non rough cut lumber. Do I return this or is this acceptable? The wood is other wise straight and square. My thought was a pass in the drum sander should smooth this right out as its not very deep.

S2S means it was sent through a 2-sided planer. There can be some light marks / lines / tearout.. It's not a finished surface, so although sometimes it can look really good, I always have to plan on sanding.

If you want nearly finish ready, ask them how much to send through their wide belt sander.
    Last edited by Jonathan Jung; 08-08-2023 at 11:17 AM.
    JonathanJungDesign.com

Quote Originally Posted by Jonathan Jung View Post
    S2S means it was sent through a 2-sided planer. There can be some light marks / lines / tearout.. It's not a finished surface, so although sometimes it can look really good, I always have to plan on sanding.

If you want nearly finish ready, ask them how much to send through their wide belt sander.

I assumed some sanding, just didnt expect that much chatter. Atlantic Plywood supplied it and they source it elsewhere so no hope of having them do it. I will run a board later this week to see what I lose on thickness.

Their supplier mill has - most likely - both top and bottom heads out of balance. Meaning one knife on the head weighs more than the others - by a fraction of a gram. Which is a lot at high-speed rotation, and will cause what you are seeing. [other possibilities like bearing failure, and on and on]