Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Loose Dowel Fit After Drilling

Loose Dowel Fit After Drilling

This is my first time working with dowels. I have a new Jessem 8350 kit with the adapters to do 1/4" dowels. Here is my concern:
    I built a wall to wall bookcase/TV unit, sprayed in Inslx Cabinet Coat. Cabinets below, shelves on top. We decided after it was built the 3/4" shelves (edge banded birch ply) look too skinny so I am reducing the depth of the shelves by 3/4" and using 1x2 maple, ripped to 1"x3/4" to add some thickness to the front edge of the shelves. I thought the splined dowels would press into place holding everything in accurate alignment for glue up. What I have are dowel/holes that are a bit loose in the holes. We're talking a small amount of movement. If I soak the dowels in water they swell enough for a nice hand press in fit but I'm not certain I should be doing it that way. Of course I'm looking for a flush top surface with the additional 1/4 width extending below the 3/4" shelf for a little beefier appearance.
    The Jessem is a nice piece and I am taking great pains to accurately mark and drill each hole, keeping the chips cleared out of the hole as I go. My goal here was alignment more than strength so my biscuit jointer would be no help.
    Your experience and advice is appreciated.
    Last edited by Lee Schierer; 08-01-2023 at 6:50 AM.

I would have made a rabbett in the back face of the maple edging so that it was just proud of the shelf and glued it on w/o any other joinery. But if your parts will fit well if you soak the dowels in water then that's what I would do. They aren't needed for strength; the glue on the mating edges will be plenty strong enough.

John

Must fluted dowels are made to expand from the glue, not soaking ahead of time. I'd grab some scrap and do a few experiments on how to make them work.