Thread: Bought 5 router plane irons and got a free plane

Bought 5 router plane irons and got a free plane

I was working on a recent project and while fumbling with my router plane iron in my 71-1/2, the iron fell out of tool, bounced off the bench and landed on the concrete floor

PXL_20230724_224837119.jpg

New replacement irons are about $18-19 from Lee valley which is reasonable, but yesterday while browsing market place I saw a deal I couldn't pass up.
    PXL_20230724_225024558.jpg

For $80, I got 5 blades, plus the plane, butt markers, 2 fences, some 78 parts, and some neat little leaflets.

I'm happy, now back to work

Whats a Butt marker? Good deal to make up for that awful feeling

What a great haul! I'm still looking for a fence and extra irons for my No. 67. Might try LV for the latter.

Quote Originally Posted by George Yetka View Post
    Whats a Butt marker? Good deal to make up for that awful feeling
    I'm not an expert but I believe they are used to make a template on a door for installing butt hinges. It came with a little book I need to read on how to use them, but I didn't get time last night

Quote Originally Posted by Jason Buresh View Post
    I'm not an expert but I believe they are used to make a template on a door for installing butt hinges. It came with a little book I need to read on how to use them, but I didn't get time last night
    Interesting, I thought originally why not trace with a marking knife but this is pretty clever
    https://blaknissan.wordpress.com/201...e-butt-marker/

Blog Entries
    Nice score Jason, looks like you have a depth stop and fence that escaped from a Stanley #78 and an extra fence for the router plane. What I don't see is the mounting screws for the router plane fences.

Quote Originally Posted by George Yetka View Post
    Interesting, I thought originally why not trace with a marking knife but this is pretty clever
    https://blaknissan.wordpress.com/201...e-butt-marker/