Thread: Black tongue and groove ceiling

Black tongue and groove ceiling

Hello everyone, my name is Stefano, and I'm a new user on the forum.A few weeks ago, I came across a video on YouTube where I saw a stunning black wooden ceiling, and I immediately fell in love with it.

screenshot_2023_05_31_191711.png

screenshot_2023_05_31_201134.png

I decided to try and recreate it in my apartment, so I purchased some tongue and groove fir woods and started working on it.
    I must confess that I have no prior knowledge of wood or woodworking techniques, but I was captivated by the ceiling's aesthetic and the remarkable craftsmanship involved in working with wood, leading to countless beautiful outcomes.Perhaps I was a bit rash in diving headfirst into something completely unfamiliar to me, but my passion pushed me to give it a shot nonetheless.
    I gathered information from various online sources and did my best to comprehend the process, but the final result clearly indicates my lack of understanding.
    Allow me to outline the steps I followed based on my understanding, although I acknowledge that I might not have grasped all the necessary nuances:

• I meticulously sanded all the planks using an orbital sander with 80, 120, and 180 grit sandpaper.
    • After each sanding session, I sprayed a fine mist of water on each plank to raise the wood fibers that had been compressed by the sander, subsequently re-sanding them with the next level of grit.
    • I procured a black water-based wood stain, specifically the Rubio Monocoat PreColor Easy Black, as well as a finishing oil, the Rubio Monocoat Oil Plus 2C Black. As far as I understand, these products are specifically designed for parquet.
    • Prior to applying the black stain, I diligently cleaned each planks with mineral spirits.