Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Low friction plastic in shooting board

Low friction plastic in shooting board

I watched a couple shooting board videos that used a low friction plastic material for the plane to slide over, but they didn't identify the material. Nylon?
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NcVK5wLSPOw
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G4VsyqVr8Gc

It doesn't look to be Nylon to me, normally Nylon is a bit less opaque and more yellow than bright white, but would work. That material looks to be Delrin (Acetal) which is widely available, machines well, and has a very low friction coefficient. It's available in white and black, in blocks, profiles, and sheets. We use a fair bit of it at work. (It's also great electrical insulator. I design high voltage equipment for a living). We don't use thin sheets of it or I'd offer to send you some.

Small pieces of it are available through McMaster-Carr. It's pricey, but not as much as some other plastics.

There are other choices as well, High Density Polyethylene would work

To be honest, I think that waxed birch plywood wouldn't be noticeably different.

DC

Quote Originally Posted by David Carroll View Post
    ......... material looks to be Delrin (Acetal) which .......available through McMaster-Carr..........
    Looks to be, but it ain't. UHMW [ultra-high-molecular weight] is Delrin's local cousin - it inhabits our part of the time-space continuum, rather Delrin which eases the way for giant machines. etc.

Even better - it is much less costly, will do this job perfectly, and it comes in adhesive-backed tapes of many widths and thicknesses. You don't need to build up a screw-on platform, just use tape, I use the tape - over time it gets a bit torn, so I scrape it off and replace. No screws needed, so don't need it thick enough to accept countersunk fasteners

McM-C tape page:

https://www.mcmaster.com/products/ad...~uhmw-plastic/

If you want to use solid material, they have that also.