Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Yates-American B44 Planer

Yates-American B44 Planer

Good evening, I’m new to vintage machinery and I’m desperate for information on a Yates American B44 planer I just purchased. I’ve searched all over vintage machinery and other resources but there seems to only be a sales brochure I can find on them! I’d love a service manual. Does anyone have any special resources for these old machines?

thank you in advance for any help!

1DA3AE3F-7AE2-41B2-AF18-730610D6674C.jpg

Austin Gorby

I had one of those, magnificent machine. It's about the same as any other machine of that vintage. Set if up like all other planers and if there is a zerk, grease it. I called Yates-American about all the tear out I was getting and they told me that machine I had was set up for soft wood and the blade angle was wrong for hardwoods. They told me to have the sharpener put a 10 degree bevel on the front of the blade and it made it the perfect machine. Yates-American is still in business you know. They are located in Beloit, WI

I have a similar looking American Sawmill Monarch 24 x 8 circa 1945. 3 rows of 2 adjustments on top. Row closest to the infeed side- infeed, middle pressure bar, back out feed rollers. A set of magnetic knife holders are a huge help. Set the infeed the same height as the cutterhead then drop it 1/2 turn. Set out feed the same as cutterhead then drop 1/4 turn.. Set the pressure bar the same height as cutterhead. Run a test board. While board is planing adjust pressure bar - if stops the board raise it. If you get chatter lower it.

Note some of those links call it a surfacer not planer?
    Bill D

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Austin Gorby View Post