Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Spraying Lacquer

Spraying Lacquer

Ok, so I'm going to spray lacquer on the Morris chair I built. I bought a gallon of that Sher-Wood Cab Acrylic Lacquer and a Fuji Mini-MIte 5 HVLP spray setup.

I've seen some videos where the presenter does two relatively heavier coats first, and a third that is ~75% thinner, 25% lacquer. Do we like this idea? Hit it with some 0000 steel wool and furniture polish after its cured? Or is there a better method? I'd sprayed plenty of waterborne finishes through this gun, but this is going to be my first time with lacquer. Yes, I am committed to lacquer because I bought it and want to try it since I've never used it before.

Input and advice appreciated!

Based on my years of spraying lacquer(approximately 40 yrs), I would not recommend that much/amount of thinner in any lacquer.
    I see no benefit and possible problems. SW recommends spray from the can unthinned.
    My personal thoughts are max thinner would be 5%. I've used the SW Cab Acrylic before.
    It is a great product. I use a SW precat now.
    Only caveat is I use a pressure tank. I'm not using an HVLP.

Tony
    "Only those who have the patience to do simple things perfectly will acquire the skill to do difficult things easily.”
    Friedrich von Schiller (1759-1805)

"Quality means doing it right when no one is looking."
    Henry Ford

Spraying real lacquer wants good ventilation and a respirator with organic vapor cartridges.

What Jamie said...solvent based lacquer is a whole nuther thing when it comes to PPE and workplace ventilation.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

I agree with Tony, I have been spraying SW cab acrylic for 36 years. I tried the 50-50 thinner once. I felt like the result was wasting thinner. Also a big fan
    of 2 coats of SW vinyl sealer before the first coat of lacquer. The heavy coat may work on flat work. I would not chance it because of changing Humidity.