Thread: Keep or sell Super Dust Deputy?

Keep or sell Super Dust Deputy?

I’m a basement hobbyist, and I have a number of machines that produce dust. Most of my dust comes from sanding at the lathe and whenever I use my planer and drum sander. I have used a Jet DC650 for years (1hp, 650CFM), which I have placed outside my shop, in the garage. I have probably too long a run of flexible hose, but I don’t have room in my small shop and I don’t like the noise.

Anyway, I’ve been keeping an eye out for a good deal on an upgrade and I pulled the trigger yesterday on a combo of a Jet DC1100VX (with the canister filter and cleaning handles) and a Super Dust Deputy. I got them home and realized how much bigger the 1100 is than the 650.

I can probably squeeze the DC1100 into the space in the garage where the DC650 is – if I don’t use the dust deputy. If I want to use the Dust Deputy, I’ll have to do a lot of space juggling and construction and put the DC in a corner of my shop. BTW, the basement and garage only have a 7’ ceiling.

I find that I don’t need to empty my DC bag that much (maybe because it’s not capturing enough dust?).

My choices are:

1 – Squeeze the DC1100 where the DC650 is now and sell the Dust Deputy. Easiest solution

2 – Do the space juggling and construction and keep both. Moderate loss of shop space.

3 – Squeeze the DC1100 where the DC650 is now in the garage and hook up the SDD inside the shop. Minor hose juggling, loss of some shop space.

As I write this I’m realizing that I'm leaning towards #1, but I guess I want to know if I’m making a mistake in going that way. In other words, for someone like me, is the SDD worth the hassle and loss of space?

Thanks.

David