Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New woodshop in a historic home

Lightbulb New woodshop in a historic home

Hello, Creek. Long time lurker, first time poster. I generally have little to contribute that hasn’t been said before so I’ve been quiet, but I’ve learned so much from this forum and the familiar faces that help everyone out. Thank you for your contributions.

Images in a public album, so I don’t have to upload to the forum: https://www.icloud.com/sharedalbum/#B0QJ058xyJpTisY

I’ve been working with a team restoring an old house for the last 5 years. The stack of architectural drawings weighs about 5 pounds, as the scope has been broad and deep, planned and unplanned, with many surprises along the way. The final leg of the project was turning a 2 car garage into a four car sized shop (with zero cars in it). I have been enjoying the process, but have made some mistakes as fatigue and energy limitations after such a long and in depth project don’t allow me to be everywhere. I’m either building, researching or managing the subs or designers, and there are only so many hours in the day.

First, the machines: Felder kf700sp with 9 foot slider, an SCM fs52es with Tersa head, and an acm built s540p SCM bandsaw. And a Oliver 91-d rebuilt by Darcy warner. I’m upgrading from a sawstop pcs with router table (keeping it), powermatic mortiser, Laguna 18bx and hammer a3-31 jointer/planer with xylent cutter head.

*One piece of trivia that might be helpful to future felder orders is after enough calling day after day for a few weeks, we were able to get them to crate the machine with osb rather than just the typical ply skeleton wrapped in Vci yellow plastic on a pallet.