Thread: Laser head walking off

Laser head walking off

Hello, I'm having a problem with my epilog legend 36ext. Laser head is walking to the left while rastering at any speed. Home position is off to the left after running also. When running vector there are lines that are not connecting and placement of interior parts of a design will sometimes be pretty off. I have replaced the encoder strip and strip reader on the x axis. Also have replaced the flex cable from strip reader and the x axis belt. I've oiled everything I can think of. The gantry is straight. I have cleaned everything I can think of. Put a call into epilog support and the guy believes it might be the x axis motor. I'm not saying he is wrong but I'm not convinced enough to spend 800 on the replacement motor yet. The motor seems to be moving the laser head just fine. It seems like a placement problem. I'm far from an expert on this stuff so I'm wondering if there is any "reprogramming" that needs to be done after replacing the encoder strip. I looked at the manual and could find any good information about it. I would post pictures but I can't figure out how to on this forum. Any help is absolutely greatly appreciated. And please forgive me for my lack of knowledge on technical terms.
    Last edited by Jordan Lavely; 03-19-2023 at 7:33 PM. Reason: Accidentally posted before finishing

Tighten the motor pulley set screw
    Retired Guy- Central Iowa.HVAC/R , Cloudray Galvo Fiber , -Windows 10

I forgot to mention that I did that as well to no avail.

My GCC Explorer has servo YX motors, however, the encoders are 'clear' disks mounted to the servo motor shafts, which pass thru a slot on the readers--
    be2.jpg

--closeup of the hash marks that are counted, and note
    this disk is filthy! It was off the machine due to the same exact
    problem you're having, kept walking LEFT--
    be4.jpg

This was what the disk looked like after I cleaned it, all the black guck gone