Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Questions about enlarging ducts to Sawstop TS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,850

    Questions about enlarging ducts to Sawstop TS

    We have 2 Sawstop ICSs at the furniture bank where I volunteer. Next year we will be moving into a new shop with an industrial DC system. Before we have the engineers in to design the duct system, I want to kick around the idea of running larger ducts to our Sawstops. We currently have about 15' of 4" duct ( which runs to a 6" branch then to 8" main) to match up with the 4" ports on the saws. I think larger ducts to the saws could help us a lot to capture dust above the blade and from the cabinet.

    I recall reading that some have enlarged their ports to 5" or 6" to match up with larger ducts. Sawstops have a 4" flex hose from the the shroud below the blade to the port. So, here's the question - how have you replumbed internally to match up to the larger port? And a secondary question - are you doing anything differently internally to keep the bottom of the cabinet from collecting a big pile of dust?

    Thanks!
    Brian

    "Any intelligent fool can make things bigger or more complicated...it takes a touch of genius and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction." - E.F. Schumacher

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Modesto, CA, USA
    Posts
    8,640
    Seems like 4-6 inch duct is more then enough for the base. Most dust down there stays put. Add above blade dust collection to reduce dust thrown into the air that you breathe.
    BillD

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    22,132
    Blog Entries
    1
    Here's what I did. I used a jig saw to increase the size of the opening. I attached the shroud hose to the edge of the new opening and trusted to the remaining open area of the 6" port to capture things the shroud did not. I epoxied a section of 6" pipe to a plywood plate and attached the plate to the saw.

    New Shop (441).jpg . Saw Stop Maint 20221120 (5).jpg

    Definite improvement. Here is a pic of the inside of the cabinet after a year of use.

    Saw Stop at 6 inch and 1 year.jpg
    Last edited by glenn bradley; 03-19-2023 at 4:07 PM.
    The life so short, the craft so long to learn. --Hippocrates

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Location
    Tracy, CA
    Posts
    373
    Enlarging duct size is a balancing act. If you have a duct that is too large, you run the risk of not having enough velocity to pull the dust through the duct. Then dust and debris will start collecting inside your duct and possibly create a fire hazard.

    A 6" drop will be fine for two 4" hoses (if both hoses are open and pulling air at the same time). I would not run a larger drop than this.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    260
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian Tymchak View Post
    We have 2 Sawstop ICSs at the furniture bank where I volunteer. Next year we will be moving into a new shop with an industrial DC system. Before we have the engineers in to design the duct system, I want to kick around the idea of running larger ducts to our Sawstops. We currently have about 15' of 4" duct ( which runs to a 6" branch then to 8" main) to match up with the 4" ports on the saws. I think larger ducts to the saws could help us a lot to capture dust above the blade and from the cabinet.

    I recall reading that some have enlarged their ports to 5" or 6" to match up with larger ducts. Sawstops have a 4" flex hose from the the shroud below the blade to the port. So, here's the question - how have you replumbed internally to match up to the larger port? And a secondary question - are you doing anything differently internally to keep the bottom of the cabinet from collecting a big pile of dust?

    Thanks!
    Since the shroud has a 4" opening that is non-modifiable, you're always going to be limited by that as it relates to airflow through the shroud. If the concern is dust in the base, I'd be tempted to run the 6" duct right to the back of the cabinet then split it off into 2 x 4". One to the native port which goes to the shroud, and then cut a second 4" port in the bottom cabinet to collect everything else. May even help to consider adding small ventilation holes to the front of the cabinet to promote airflow across the bottom of the cabinet and into a dust port. Similar principles to how people have described dust collection in enclosed router tables.

    That being said, are you using above the table collection? I think adding that first would give you the most improvement.
    Last edited by Patrick Varley; 03-19-2023 at 4:40 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,850
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Varley View Post
    That being said, are you using above the table collection? I think adding that first would give you the most improvement.
    Yes, both saws have stock blade guards with DC.
    Brian

    "Any intelligent fool can make things bigger or more complicated...it takes a touch of genius and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction." - E.F. Schumacher

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Columbus, OH
    Posts
    2,850
    Quote Originally Posted by glenn bradley View Post
    Here's what I did. I used a jig saw to increase the size of the opening. I attached the shroud hose to the edge of the new opening and trusted to the remaining open area of the 6" port to capture things the shroud did not. I epoxied a section of 6" pipe to a plywood plate and attached the plate to the saw.

    New Shop (441).jpg . Saw Stop Maint 20221120 (5).jpg

    Definite improvement. Here is a pic of the inside of the cabinet after a year of use.

    Saw Stop at 6 inch and 1 year.jpg
    Thanks for the pics Glenn. Exactly what I was wanting to see. Your cabinet base is cleaner than ours are after cleaning! 1 more question comes to mind. Did you have to modify the cabinet in any way to allow for make up air?
    Brian

    "Any intelligent fool can make things bigger or more complicated...it takes a touch of genius and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction." - E.F. Schumacher

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    22,132
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian Tymchak View Post
    Thanks for the pics Glenn. Exactly what I was wanting to see. Your cabinet base is cleaner than ours are after cleaning! 1 more question comes to mind. Did you have to modify the cabinet in any way to allow for make up air?
    Mine is a PCS so the cabinet config may be different. My tilt handle clearance slot:

    Saw Stop DC (1).jpg

    The holes for the factory mobile base on both sides:

    Saw Stop DC (2).jpg

    Around the motor cover and all around the underside of the table to cabinet junction seem to provide adequate return air. With the DC on I can easily remove the ZCI. That is, there is no great amount of suction as if the cabinet is starved for air.
    The life so short, the craft so long to learn. --Hippocrates

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Posts
    3,527
    I find that the cabinet on my ICS does accumulate dust. Every once in a while, I take out the ZCI, turn on the dust collector, and shoot compressed air into the cabinet from the top. The dust collector seems to get all those particles out then. This is despite a 5HP Oneida cyclone.

    I've thought of enlarging the opening, but considering that the 6" run is split into two 4" ducts (one for the Sawstop Overhead Collector with a skirt that I attached) as well as the stock one on the ICS, I thought this would just detract from the Overhead collector, so I never did it.
    - Its not that Im so smart, its just that I stay with problems longer. Albert Einstein
    - Welcome to Florida. Where the old folks visit their parents

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •