Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26

Thread: Electrical hook up question

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Carlsbad, CA
    Posts
    2,138
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks everyone for your help! Below is the additional requested information regarding electrical panels in the shop, and the specific tools that need to be connected to power. To be clear, all these tools are brand new, and have never been used/hooked up.

    Powermatic, 24 inch thickness planer M15S2 230 V, 3 pole, 4 wire, grounding plug.

    Powermatic 24 inch bandsaw. Model number PM 2415B. 5 hp, 22 Amps, 60 Hz, phase 1, 230 V, four pole, Class B.

    Powermatic 8 inch joiner. Model number PJ Ė 882HN, single phase, 230 V.

    Saw stop 10 inch table saw. 5 hp, 60 Hz, 230 V, phase 1.

    There are three circuit breaker panels in the shop. I have attempted to attach pictures below labeled as:

    BB 208Y/120 V, three phase, four wire, PNL amps 225, phase 3, 4 wire, neutral amps 450, neutral volts 120, box type one.

    BC with same specs as above panel.


    Panel BD 120/208 3 phase, four W.
    Panel type S one. Systems: 208Y/120 V, 304 W. Breakers: BL, BLH, HBL, BLF, BLHF, BQD.
    Panel type S2. Systems: 480Y/277V, 304W. 480Y/277V, 303W. Breakers BQD.
    600Y/347V, 304W. Breakers:BQD6.

    I have no idea why the district electrician says he canít fix this? His advice was to get an outside electrician.ED4BF292-1833-4F9A-A3EF-B33B87E8853C.jpg7851BEA5-BFA3-45A0-8BBE-066808731557.jpgADEC3637-6881-48C3-B278-14941CA0A7EC.jpg869850C5-CC59-4C55-9C23-E85D549FCF8B.jpg1B5BD857-73DF-4DCD-A1CF-0E60906EE375.jpg2CD69451-80C0-4763-B383-021A36BEED73.jpg

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2022
    Location
    Tracy, CA
    Posts
    305
    It doesn't sound like your "district electrician" has any experience with 3-phase. Is it possible that he is mostly there to only do 110V and low voltage electrical work? I am no expert, but I can see that your panels are already 3 phase. They have a number of 3-phase circuit breakers as well as single phase 240V and single phase 120V.
    Last edited by Aaron Inami; 03-06-2023 at 1:46 PM.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Lake Gaston, Henrico, NC
    Posts
    7,785
    Yeah, he's just doesn't have any experience with 3 phase. You just need to find the right person.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Okotoks AB
    Posts
    3,449
    Blog Entries
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Tom M King View Post
    Yeah, he's just doesn't have any experience with 3 phase. You just need to find the right person.
    And the approval of the school board.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    McKean, PA
    Posts
    14,864
    I would suggest getting a second opinion from a local electrical contractor. Ask him/her for a quote on what it would take to connect all those power tools in the space where you want them. Take that quote to your supervisor and/or the school board. Some school boards have banned power tools in schools, so that may be why your school electrician cannot connect the tools or as others have said is not up to date on three phase power.
    Last edited by Lee Schierer; 03-07-2023 at 4:14 PM.
    Lee Schierer
    Captain USN(Ret)

    My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Please Contribute

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Okotoks AB
    Posts
    3,449
    Blog Entries
    1
    Just curious, is there an electrician certification in the US whereby they can only work on single phase. In Canada there isn't and I can't imaging there being one in the US either.

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    McKean, PA
    Posts
    14,864
    Quote Originally Posted by Frank Pratt View Post
    Just curious, is there an electrician certification in the US whereby they can only work on single phase. In Canada there isn't and I can't imaging there being one in the US either.
    Yes, and No. There is usually an electrician apprenticeship which may or may not include actual course work and hands on work in all areas. Electricians working in residential installations don't normally see 3 phase and in my experience stay away from areas they are not familiar with. Licensing requirements vary widely by state.
    Lee Schierer
    Captain USN(Ret)

    My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Please Contribute

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Modesto, CA, USA
    Posts
    8,377
    School board rules also come into play here. He may not be allowed to work on a project like this that will take more then x hours. Maybe it has to be posted out for competitive bids. Maybe three phase or above say 100 amps has to be designed by an licensed electrical engineer/contractor.
    My city had building permit rules that a panel could be replaced with no permit only if the panel was rated over 100? amps. You read that right. Big panels were permit free.
    Part of panel work I never got into is you have to show work to prove the panel loads are balanced. I would guess even more critical in a three phase panel. Where 120 loads are often taken off only 2 of three phases.
    Bill D
    Last edited by Bill Dufour; 03-09-2023 at 11:26 PM.

  9. #24
    Motors rated for 230V are not suitable for 208V, motors need to be rated for 200V, 208V, 200-230V, or 208-230V, or buck/boost transformer(s) installed to buck up the voltage.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Carlsbad, CA
    Posts
    2,138
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks, everyone for the feedback and insight!

    Status is our school district. Electrician has passed on this job and we’re seeking quote from outside electrician. Hopefully trying to pursue someone with some experience with phase 3 power. It’s been two years so goodness knows how long it may be before we ever get these working, if at all.

    Thanks again for the help! Mike.

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Toronto Ontario
    Posts
    10,941
    There may be code issues with the machines, they may not have dust extraction for them, they may not have passed a startup or safety inspection.

    These arenít trivial issues in a school environment. Regards, Rod

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •