Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 9 inch versus 14 inch bandsaw - which to buy - specific use case and feed pressur

9 inch versus 14 inch bandsaw - which to buy - specific use case and feed pressur

Hello,
    happy to be on the forum. posting.

I have been using a jigsaw for many years and have decided it's time to get the bandsaw, and wanted advice regarding a 9 inch bandsaw versus a 14 inch.

the most important deciding factor for me is feed pressure related to how hard I'm able to push. is the reason why I upgraded my jigsaw a couple years ago. My old jigsaw worked fine, but I had to push too hard and became difficult to do over time. after I upgraded, it made world of difference

here are my requirements/ thoughts
    • I will not be doing any re- saw work in the foreseeable future. If it ever came to that, I would buy the proper 14 inch with a 1.5 or 2 hp motor and do it right.
    • Budget: used machines only, Whatever the going rate is.
    • regarding feed pressure, if there is a difference is this a small amount or large? Or should this not matter as the bandsaw should be doing the work? is it slower?
    • larger machines are harder to move around ( mostly set up) and take up more space. I think I Might be able to manage this, but it's not my first preference.
    • Vibration is something I have no experience with. I have only ever used a proper 14 inch many years ago, just a few times. Does a smaller bandsaw cause inaccuracies? Is it just annoying? why is vibration bad?
    • Anticipated thickness of stock would be 4/4 and even some 2X lumber. both use cases would be Softwood. Hardwoods sometimes but not often, And thin.