Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: So, it seems using cash to haggle doesn't work like it used to!

So, it seems using cash to haggle doesn't work like it used to!

I've been driving an old '04 Chevy Venture van for about 7 years- initially bought it for my father in law for something to drive after the engine in his old Ford F250 caught on fire while picking up pizza one night, was all of $1300 at a dealership. Dad failed his drivers test shortly thereafter, and I've been using it ever since. Had zero issues with it, until about 2 weeks ago, it decided to grow some crazy electrical gremlins; heater fan knob just plain wouldn't turn one morning- Made do with the rear heat, but that doesn't do much to defog the windshield, so I made a windshield 'mop' to fix that problem. That was okay until the headlights decided to grow a mind of their own. Just come any time, day or night, 3 or 4 hours, then turn themselves off after a few hours. Then back on, then off, no rhyme or reason...

Since it'll likely cost way more to fix it than I PAID for it, I figured it was time to look for something I've wanted for quite awhile now to replace the van, a Cadillac Escalade

Found this 2013 Platinum at a local dealer, was the best price I found for a similar unit by several thou$and bucks, on Edmunds. I photocopied the ad and brought in in with me...
    escalade.jpg
    Very nice ride, very good condition, previous owners took good care of it, and the test drive put a nice smile on my face!
    So I decided to buy it, and pay cash. I had a business check, or could go get a cashier's check a few minutes away...

I began the requisite haggling process, but the salesman got a bit antsy, and 'had to go talk to someone'... Turns out someone messed up and the Edmunds ad hadn't been updated, and their own ad had the price at nearly $4k higher! Ok, so no haggling, price is good so I'm fine, the wife was fine. I made us a cup of coffee while we waited on the paperwork...