Thread: Advice Needed - Failed Tung Oil Finish (Splotchy?)

Advice Needed - Failed Tung Oil Finish (Splotchy?)

I applied 2 coats of tung oil to yellowheart wood and got poor results.

My steps:

• sanded boards to 220 grit
    • first coat (50/50 pure tung oil & mineral spirits)
    • waited 9 days
    • second coat (80/20 pure tung oil & mineral spirits)
    • waited 5 days and now posting this here

I am a noob with no experience. I am not sure I can even accurately describe the issue, let alone diagnosing the cause. Advice needed. The finish appears uneven in sheen. Along the board you will find patches / streaks that are way shiner than other areas. I would even say that some of those patches / streaks look a bit white and frosty - very unsightly.
    In Pictures 2-4, I used harsh lighting and critical angles to highlight and accentuate the problem. Picture 1 shows a more flattering and perhaps realistic view.

Could you recommend a fix without starting over completely? I want to get rid of the shiny spots and achieve a more even / more matte finish.

Wood 1.jpg Wood 2.jpg Wood 3.jpg Wood 4.jpg

Thank you.

Allen

I would suspect an absorption issue. Maybe sanding differences in some areas vs. others. Wood could be denser in some areas than others. I'm no expert, but I do use tung oil alot and use basically the same method that you use. I have seen absorption issues from sanding differences and denser wood on the same board. I don't know how to fix this problem you have experienced though.
    My Dad always told me "Can't Never Could".

SWE

Perhaps more coats will make it more even. I suspect if you rub it out with 0000 steel wool (or a suitable scotchbrite equivalent) it will look very good. "Finishing the finish" is an often overlooked step that improves almost all finishes dramatically, and is usually the best way to achieve the desired sheen, from matte to high gloss.