Thread: Old gas question

Blog Entries

Old gas question

I have about one gallon of an old gas and oil mix that I use for my snowblower. Do you think it would be ok to add it into a full tank of gas in my car?
    Thanks
    Dennis

I am not a mechanic. I would not do it with fuel injection, the downside risk is to high in my opinion. I have had several boats, snow blowers and weed wackers and have tried to avoid having old gas.

With my boats I had 6 gallon cans. In the fall I would run my last can down to 1 gallon and stabilize it. In the Spring I topped the can off wit 5 gallons of fresh gas and oil and never had a problem, but that gas was only 5 months old and stabilized and diluted 5 to 1 with new gas.........never an issue.

If it's real old I would not use it in any engine. I see you live in NJ. I have a place on the Delaware Bay and the local "Convenience Center" aka dump, will take old gas and chemicals. I think if you do some research you will find something in NJ that will take it.

I do it all the time here on the farm (as long as the fuel mix is not so old that it smells varnished up). Typically I’ll only do it with a full tank of fuel though in order to achieve maximum dilution.

Any 2 cycle mix that is older than 30 days is recycled this way and replaced with fresh mix. I also use ethanol free high octane gasoline to make my 2 cycle mix from.

oily gas in a modern car is not the best idea. You crap out an o-2 sensor or worse, and it will cost a bloody fortune. I mix old two cycle gas with 4 gals of fresh gas and use it in the lawn mower. Never messed up the mower yet and if it does, what is another $200 mower. compared to a bill to unclog fuel injection in a car or truck.

I use old gas to kill weeds, not any worse than weed killer sold as such.
    Retired Guy- Central Iowa.HVAC/R , Cloudray Galvo Fiber , -Windows 10

When I saw "Old gas" I envisioned taco and refried bean day at the senior center.

Quote Originally Posted by Bill Bukovec View Post