Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Another this vs that thread

Question Another this vs that thread

Hello Everyone.

This is my first time posting but have been reading for a long time. I really appreciate all of the knowledge and information that flys around this forum. It's simply amazing.

I am looking to upgrade from a bench top lathe to a full sized. I have it narrowed down to a couple of models but am having a hard time deciding which is the best for me, and I am hoping someone can give me some insight to put one over the top. I do some medium sized bowl turning, and some minor spinle turning, mostly things like ornaments and pens. I am 5' 10" on a good day so I have ruled out the Grizzly line for the most part as I think they are too tall. Although I do love my Grizzly Table Saw. Footprint is not a concern as I have plenty of space - maybe too much because it lets me spend up on tools haha. I have also mostly ruled out Jet as I don't think the additional cost adds enough value wise, and there seems to be some quality control issues with things like paint, which while petty would drive me nuts on a $3,000 hopefully forever lathe.

I am down to the Laguna 1836 or the Nova Galaxi. Both on 220 power.

I do not have a dealer near me that has them in stock for me to play with so I have to rely on You Tube etc to make my decision. What gives me the most pause on the Galaxi are the electronics. I live in Colorado Springs and it is extremely dry here. I saw some reports of Galaxi's failing from static shock which happens here a lot. I also for the life of me cannot find the measurement for the floor to spindle which seems odd to me. What gives me the most pause on the Laguna is in a similar line of thought in that some of the switches and relays appear to be on the lower end of quality, as well as the bearing configuration. Price point is close with the Galaxi being a bit cheaper, but all lathes are expensive in this range now a days haha.