Thread: New Hermes vanguard 3000lt touch sensor?

New Hermes vanguard 3000lt touch sensor?

Does anyone have experience with the touch sensor on the 3000LT?

My house is full of New Hermes stuff, but I've never heard of a 'touch sensor'...
    --google brought up that Q1E sells a touch sensor to fit a NH3400, which I have 3 of:
    touchsensor.jpg
    Best I can tell from looking at it, it 'senses' when the spindle 'hits bottom' as you're moving the spindle downward. How it works, not a clue...

I've been zero-ing out spindles for nearly 50 years, and my 'touch sensor' is my eyes, I just watch the spindle pulley for it to rise up above, or just make contact with, the main spindle housing when raising or lowering the spindle...

For the life of me I can't think of a reason to even have a touch sensor...? I guess it may be convenient, but it's really not necessary--- if you're zeroing a tool using a depth gauge nose, you WANT the spindle to 'rise up' a bit, so you KNOW the nose is in contact with the substrate when you lower the tool to the substrate and tighten the tool's collar. When done, raise the spindle back up and WATCH the top of the spindle as you raise it back up, and stop raising when the spindle's pulley and/or snap ring just make contact with the spindle housing. From there, just jog the spindle up or down a bit until you're satisfied it's close enough. When using a depth nose, a few 1000ths plus or minus from 'actual' zero doesn't matter much, because you set the cutting depth with the nose micrometer, and add .03" or so to the down cut distance so the nose and tool will always be in contact with the substrate. And I set my Z-lift setting to around .07" or so, which will raise the tool reasonably enough as it moves from letter to letter on good, flat substrate.