Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 20" Planer Feed Qestion - trouble feeding large boards

20" Planer Feed Qestion - trouble feeding large boards

I have a Laguna 20" Planer, one of the newer PX20 models, and have noticed it is having trouble feeding larger boards. Smaller pieces are fine, but I recently had to plane down some 10/4 ash that is 6" wide and 72" long. I have to push the boards through with a decent amount of pressure and then pull them out on the other side in order for it to feed. If I dont touch the board it wont move. Same goes for some 8/4 walnut that is similarly sized. Im taking a fairly small cut, maybe 1/32 or 1/16" max.

Is it normal to have to help feed boards of that size through a machine, or do I need to go in and make adjustments to the feed rollers? The machine is 5hp, but I have no relative experience with other planers of this size.
    Last edited by Sean Moore; 10-26-2022 at 9:48 PM.

No, you shouldn’t need to push and pull material through your planer.
    Those are not large material pieces you’re referring to. A 5hp planer should easily b handle them.
    Check the settings of your pressure rollers and feed rollers.
    These are jointed boards, correct?
    "The first thing you need to know, will likely be the last thing you learn." (Unknown)

It could be just low grade knives. I’ve seen it before. Some planers are sold with low grade knives that leave a lot of striations . If you see
    non -shiny wood surface and striation on newly planed wood,buy some T-1 or M2 knives and use the original junk on some free fine wood
    that is full of grit ,and perhaps, a nail or two.

And ensure that the tables are well waxed. Planers are sensitive to too much friction on the tables.

A late model like yours should have a manual available. Check bed rollers, in and out feed rollers and pressure bar.

Also, run the piece left, right and center. On some planers you need to raise the pressure bar while running a board.