Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Woodworker or Content Creator

Woodworker or Content Creator

This subject has come up from time to time, so I thought I would share this.
    I watched a video purely based on the description.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhEV...URO6DHN4AaABAg

"I've never worked with pallet wood before but I figured I'd give it a shot and build a farmhouse style table entirely out of stacks of old pallets. The end grain butcher block top is 3" thick, 3' wide by 6' long and the trestle base is all mortise and tenon joinery. This was quite the project and at the end of the build, I share how long everything took and all the extra costs associated with working with "free" wood. I hope you enjoy, let me know your thoughts in the comments and please get yourself subscribed to the channel. Ryan P.S. At the very end, I say I'm going to show some final pics and then fail to include them in the video. Apologies! "

I posted a comment afterwards, and I surprisingly received a response this morning.

Edward Weber 1 day ago

Not sure what to make of this video, A month of work and $1200 + in costs, and you get a table. While it may be a nice final product, you would have to sell it for at least $10k to make it worthwhile.

Ryan Hawkins 6 hours ago

Or get a million views on YouTube

I give him credit for his honesty
    Last edited by Edward Weber; 10-03-2022 at 12:57 PM. Reason: forgot content link

It's all about the algorithm and driving traffic to your channel. Stumpy Nubs has a video explaining why you have to follow the trends to get your content to show up. Creating YT content that generates income is hard work but clearly some people can make a living at it. Not something I'd want to do as I can't imagine adding those types of pressures into the happy place that is my garage shop.

I've never had interest in pallet wood projects, mostly because I wouldn't want that grimy wood anywhere near my tools.