Thread: Mallet, How to make this?

Mallet, How to make this?

OK folks, you know I am new at turning and this is a practice project: I want to try to turn a mallet. I want to use a piece of 1 1/2" x 1 1/2" x 9" hard maple as the core which will be the handle and the center portion of the head. I want the head portion of the maple to be wrapped in 3/4 " x 3 1/2" walnut. I also want to cut the maple blank, the handle portion, three times and put a 1/4" section of walnut in each and glue it back together for turning. Hope this makes sense. In other words, when finished, the handle section will have three walnut rings spaced an inch or so apart for decoration.
    MY QUESTIONS: When I glue the walnut wrap around the head portion of the maple blank, I assume I should glue it with the grain running horizontal with the maple, but should I mitre it around the blank or butt joint it around the blank? Will this work, is it safe to turn this as one glued-up piece as described rather than turning a separate handle and separate head?
    Thanks.
    Be Blessed!

Quote Originally Posted by Chris DiCiaccio
    OK folks, you know I am new at turning and this is a practice project: I want to try to turn a mallet. I want to use a piece of 1 1/2" x 1 1/2" x 9" hard maple as the core which will be the handle and the center portion of the head. I want the head portion of the maple to be wrapped in 3/4 " x 3 1/2" walnut. I also want to cut the maple blank, the handle portion, three times and put a 1/4" section of walnut in each and glue it back together for turning. Hope this makes sense. In other words, when finished, the handle section will have three walnut rings spaced an inch or so apart for decoration.