Thread: Best beginner spray setup

Best beginner spray setup

Hi guys, I'm building some interior shutters for a nursery, and want to try my hand at a spray finish (latex paint). I've never sprayed a finish before.

I bought a $99 Husky HVLP gun set to go along with my 2 gallon, 1.7 CFM Kobalt compressor that I normally just use for nailing trim. But I just learned that I need a higher CFM compressor for the job. So I'm considering my options. I'm happy to save money here, but don't want to go so cheap that I ruin my pieces. Looking for a good balance of quality and price.

Should I get a compressor with a big tank? Should I get a dedicated HVLP machine? I don't really have room in my shop for a large compressor, so I'm leaning HVLP machine...but again, I'm a novice here.

Thanks! I've searched through past threads, but the amount of advice in there is overwhelming, and I'm hoping for a simple answer.

The simplest answer is to get an Earlex HVLP turbine unit. Most bang for the $'s and guaranteed to work.

Interesting that you bought that Husky gun, since it says not suitable for latex paint yet that's what you want to spray. I'd return it.

And now about paint. You don't want to try spraying latex wall paint. It's not designed to spray well with an HVLP gun. You need an airless rig for that stuff. What you want is waterborne trim enamel, or pigmented lacquer. Many times those products will require some thinning in order to spray well through an HVLP gun, but they will indeed spray well.