Thread: Question about a drawer mistake

Question about a drawer mistake

Hi,

I am a novice woodworker - very new to this hobby. I am making 3 drawers. After I cut all the plywood, I started to realize I made a mistake. All the Youtube videos indicated that if using butt joint, front board should covers end of two side boards. But when I cut the board, I did it on the opposite that the two side boards actually covers the left and right end of the front board.

How bad this will be? I am planning to put Dominos on those ends.

I can also slightly change the design and make the drawer shorter so that the two side boards to cover the two end of front board.

Any advise?

Thanks.

Are you planning an overlay drawer front, or is your current front going to show?

Strictly speaking , the YTers gave you poor advice.

Wooden drawers have always been constructed in the manner you have because it provides the most strength. It doesn’t really matter if you’re using dominos, nails, dowels, biscuits , or dovetails - the sides capture the front an backs.

Quote Originally Posted by Yang Lu View Post
    Hi,

I am a novice woodworker - very new to this hobby. I am making 3 drawers. After I cut all the plywood, I started to realize I made a mistake. All the Youtube videos indicated that if using butt joint, front board should covers end of two side boards. But when I cut the board, I did it on the opposite that the two side boards actually covers the left and right end of the front board.

How bad this will be? I am planning to put Dominos on those ends.

I can also slightly change the design and make the drawer shorter so that the two side boards to cover the two end of front board.

Any advise?

Thanks.
    Just screw on a (new) drawer front, one that stretches the full width. It can be 1/8" thick (thickness does not matter).

Regards from Perth

Derek