Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Transition from windows computer to Apple computer

Blog Entries

Transition from windows computer to Apple computer

Has anyone done this transition?
    How did it go?
    I only use a computer for internet , bill paying, excel spreadsheet, little bit of Word, nothing very sophisticated.
    Every day I hate Microsoft a little bit more👿
    I’m not very technically savvy
    Thanks
    Dennis

I did, about 10 years ago. Actually, my work did it for me first. My company switched from Windows to Apples. So, when we made the switch at home, it went pretty smoothly.

I haven't touched a Windows computer in over 10 years.

Apple has their own Spreadsheet/Word programs called Numbers & Pages. I'm sure they are fine, but we still use the Microsoft Office products.

I used windows for many years. Ten years ago I switched my home workstations to mac. My kids use macs. I hate it. When they move out next year I plan to convert back to windows.

Mac doesnt let me know where files are. So I can’t just drag and drop to back things up. It can be done but it is messy. All my macs have become painfully slow.

This is not to say windows is Magical and perfect. But Mac is not either. Go with the one whose interface you find more intuitive.

I took the leap a few months ago. It wasn’t without some headaches. I’m still in the process of rebuilding my music library, and I still prefer the Windows file management system. If you are computer savvy it should not be too big of a problem. I'm not...

https://sawmillcreek.org/showthread....hip&highlight=

Edit: I should add that I went from a Win7 Pro machine to the Mac. I have never used a Win 10 or 11 machine.
    Last edited by Bruce Page; 06-08-2022 at 10:41 PM.
    Please help support the Creek.

"It's paradoxical that the idea of living a long life appeals to everyone, but the idea of getting old doesn't appeal to anyone."
    Andy Rooney