Thread: Which alloys for machining

Which alloys for machining

Can someone offer some guidance on choosing alloys for different uses that must be machined? I'm cutting some acme thread components soon for a stop on the Powermatic mortiser project. What alloy should I use for these threads? It's not a high stress project. Second is a general steel for gunsmithing. Anyone know what would be appropriate for picatinny rails? Might make a replica of a specific historic flash suppressor for an M1 too, guesses on alloys for that?

Obviously I'm a noob at this, but having fun.

It might be overkill but you could use 4140 for both parts. It's strong machines well and will take bluing. It's what the barrel of your M1 is probably made from.
    Confidence: The feeling you experience before you fully understand the situation

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry Bruette View Post
    It might be overkill but you could use 4140 for both parts. It's strong machines well and will take bluing. It's what the barrel of your M1 is probably made from.
    Thanks Jerry, appreciate the info. I was also curious what barrels were, so good to know!

Quote Originally Posted by Steve Rozmiarek View Post
    Can someone offer some guidance on choosing alloys for different uses that must be machined? I'm cutting some acme thread components soon for a stop on the Powermatic mortiser project. What alloy should I use for these threads? It's not a high stress project. Second is a general steel for gunsmithing. Anyone know what would be appropriate for picatinny rails? Might make a replica of a specific historic flash suppressor for an M1 too, guesses on alloys for that?

Obviously I'm a noob at this, but having fun.
    I don't know about the alloys for your application, but Online Metals has a guide of the properties of different materials and alloys which might be good for comparison:
    https://www.onlinemetals.com/en/product-guide