Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Return Air Baffle for CV1800

Return Air Baffle for CV1800

I’ve been designing a closet for my CV1800 for a few months trying to find a way to make it fit in my little garage and I think I have finally cracked it. My only concern is with the return air baffle I designed.

Garage is air conditioned so return air is a must. I’ve read so many posts about closets on this forum alone but just want some outside opinions.

In the attached pics you will see the closet and the air baffle I am currently planning on. Nothing is built yet.

The interior dimensions for the air baffle are as follows: 26” wide x 3.25” tall. The air path has (4) 90 degree turns. Does this look like it will work for me?

CDF2B791-0B88-4B75-ACF1-7556B9181D24.jpgC7C62D56-543C-4702-A3D8-0F7566E738C6.jpg70894F52-1128-4A0A-B6CD-2864E2DABC0C.jpg

Can you line the interior walls with something soft and fluffy? That will absorb high frequency sounds. For instance https://www.distributioninternationa...glass-blankets

Oh yeah there’s quite a bit more going on inside the closet than pictured. I’m going to purchase a scratch and dent prehung door. Steel or fiberglass insulated. I’m going with a layer of 5/8” drywall on the two corner walls which already have 5/8” drywall installed and insulated. On the Inside of the same corner I’m thinking of using some mass loaded vinyl possibly or foam. Not sure yet.

As for the two portions either side of the door frame I’m going with 3” insulation, again haven’t decided yet. I am planning to line the interior with pegboard rough side facing out. A guy named Jim I think did that on his. Also borrowed his air baffle design and tweaked it to work with my setup. Thanks Jim. Exterior portions double layer of 5/8 drywall. Green glue sandwiched in between.