Thread: inset drawer front planning

inset drawer front planning

Hello all, I am experimenting by making a table with inset drawers in the apron. I cut the drawer front out of the apron to make the grain flow and then glued the apron back together. Now I need to plane the apron down to final thickness.

If I run the apron through the hellical head planner will it explode due to the interrupted material?

Do I need to do this with a drum sander?

Any help is appreciated.

IMG_20220428_092511054.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Julio Vargas; 04-28-2022 at 4:11 PM.

Blog Entries
    I have no experience with helical heads, but the only area I would be worried about if I were running it through my planer would be that center stile. If you decide to run it, I would advise using some double sided tape with a pretty goo gripping strength to hold a similar thickness piece of scrap against the trailing side of that center stile to give it additional support. I would also hold that piece of scrap in place with some brown wrapping paper glues to the hidden side of the piece. This would give that center piece extra support as it passes through the planer. The brown paper will easily sand off after the piece has been resized.
    Lee Schierer
    USNA '71
    Go Navy!

My advice, comments and suggestions are free, but it costs money to run the site. If you found something of value here please give a little something back by becoming a contributor! Please Contribute

The center stile is in the same grain orientation as the rest of the apron, right? Hard to tell from the photo. I would expect no issues at all on this, UNLESS, the trailing end of that center style is reversing grain, then you might experience blowout/tearout on that trailing edge. The same would be true of the end of any board with very squirrely grain. I would run the rear/back of the apron face first, but i think this is fine.