Thread: How to Put a New Finish on a Table Top

How to Put a New Finish on a Table Top

Hi all,

I’m hoping to get some advice on how to re-finish my table. I’m by no means an expert on finishing. I purchased this table at an Amish store 5 years ago. It’s made of soft maple. They must have used a water-based poly on it as every time water or even a slight amount of heat gets to it the area becomes white and hazy for hours. Its also scratched and dull as I hope you can see it in my pic.

My go to finish is General Arm-R-Seal. I need to know how to remove the finish without damaging the wood stain since I do not have any to re-finish it. Is this possible? I just need to do the top.

I have several books on finishing, but none cover this.

Thanks

Mike
    Attached Images Attached Images

I would sand it and reapply a waterborne finish. No power sanders - do it by hand 320 grit & very careful around edges.

There are several that will do a good job for a table. I've used the conversion varnish and high build lacquer from Target Coatings with cross linker.

Others will chime in more knowledgeable, Steve Weiss at TC is a good source.

It doesn't matter if the existing finish was waterborne or oil based or solvent based...whatever they used clearly isn't up to snuff.

The only way to completely remove a finish without damaging the wood is to use a stripper but it will also strip the coloration. You cannot take off the clear coat without damaging the stain, for the most part. The alternative is to thoroughly clean and then very lightly abrade the existing finish and add coats of a more durable finish on top of what's there.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...