Thread: Jointer Taper Issue

Question Jointer Taper Issue

Hello,

I've got a "new" to me 1940's Walker Turner/Craftsman jointer. I am having some issues and this is the first jointer I have used. Please bare with me as I am new to wood working.

The first issue is when I use it, the front end of the board is planed away more than the back end of the board. Pretty much giving me a taper at the front end of the board. Doing some more research, it suggests my tables may not be co-planar. If that is the case, which table do should I use a my "source" for my measurements? In other words, if I use the infeed table as my reference and have the outfeed table match it? Both tables are on dovetails.

Is there anything else I should check before shimming my jointer?

I do have a Fulton 50" bar coming so that I can take measurements.

Thank you,
    K Murphy

You may be able to find a relevant manual here:
    http://vintagemachinery.org/mfgindex...x?id=808&tab=3

But generally speaking, I'd get the outfeed aligned to the knives and level (though technically it doesn't need to be level, just flat and aligned/coplanar with the cutting head/ knives). Then raise the infeed and adjust it to be coplanar with the outfeed. At "zero" depth of cut you should get a straight line from the indeed across the blades and then across the outfeed.
    Last edited by Patrick Varley; 04-05-2022 at 1:58 PM.

The tapered cut you describe means you need to lower the outfeed table. Try this method lower the outfeed lower then the infeed table. Take a cut on a fairly straight board until 3 or 4 inches hangs out over the outfeed. Raise the outfeed until it barely touches the bottom of the board.
    Don’t mess with shimming the table alignment until your absolutely positive it’s needed.
    Good Luck
    Aj

Sounds to me like it’s not “climbing” ….which is a most common and vexing problem. But in this case I think it’s a too LOW problem.

Blog Entries